About Reagan National Airport

Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport is, along with Washington Dulles International Airport, part of a two-airport system that provides domestic and international air service for the Washington DC metropolitan and surrounding regions.  Both Airports have been managed by the Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority (MWAA) since 1987 when they were transferred by Congress to the Authority under a long-term lease authorized by the Metropolitan Washington Airports Act of 1986, Title VI of Public Law 99-50.

Slot and Perimeter Rules

Primarily serving as a "short-haul" airport, Reagan National offers nonstop service to destinations no further than a 1,250 mile perimeter from Washington, D.C. as part of the federally-instituted “Perimeter Rule.” Over the years, the federal government has granted exceptions to this rule, allowing daily flights to several cities beyond the perimeter including Denver, Las Vegas, Los Angeles, Phoenix, Salt Lake City, San Francisco, Seattle, Portland, Ore., San Diego and Austin.

The “slot rule” was created by the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) in 1969 at five high-density airports to reduce congestion and spur growth at other nearby airports. Reagan National’s slot rule limits the number of landings and takeoffs to 62 per hour. Federal legislation in 2000, 2003 and 2012 added 24, 22 and 8 new slots, respectively.

Additional Information About Reagan National Airport